Australia’s Cameron Smith wins the Claret Jug, holding off Cameron Young and Rory McIlroy


The Queenslander is simply the fifth Australian to win golf’s oldest championship, following on from five-time winner Peter Thomson, Kel Nagle, Greg Norman and Ian Baker-Finch.

It’s been 29 years because the final Australian received the occasion, which was Norman again in 1993, the second of his two wins in The Open. Nagle received the centenary The Open, and Smith has now claimed the a hundred and fiftieth.

Only for a second suppose what a 12 months it has been for Australian golf, following on from his win in The Gamers and Minjee Lee’s US Open win, her second main.

Cameron Smith now holding his official press convention.

“I really feel like I can breathe,” he says. “I’m pleased with how I knuckled down right now. Hopefully we will maintain the pattern going each 50 years.”

Share post:


More like this